top of page
  • allalittlebroken

The Things We Don’t Discuss

If there’s one thing I want to be known for as I build my business and find my niche, it’s this – talking about the things that we all struggle with but no one wants to talk about. For as long as I can remember, right up until I met my husband at 22, there were a lot of topics that I avoided. With everyone. Particularly anything that had to do with the human body. It wasn’t that I was ashamed of anything, I just couldn’t bring myself to discuss it with anyone. For some reason it seemed much better to convince myself that I was dying every time I Googled a symptom of something I didn’t recognize…not a method I recommend, to be honest.

Then, in 2015 I met my husband. Turns out – it’s tricky to have a relationship while avoiding that many topics! It’s taken a lot of time, but I’m learning a couple of very important things.

First – if your spouse isn’t a safe place to talk about this stuff, then you should identify why and see if you can take steps to remedy that. If I didn’t have John to talk to when my mood is dipping and hormones raging, I’d lose my mind.

Second, however, by avoiding these topics we are not only doing ourselves an injustice, by pretending that we have to deal with everything by ourselves, but we are also depriving our children of our support when they need it. I want to be comfortable enough talking about all of the “taboo” stuff – periods, body changes, puberty in general, girls/boys – that my kids are always okay coming and talking to me about it.

In that vein, I want to share something with you that I discovered this last month.

Thinx Period Underwear.

Okay, stay with me here – I’ve heard people talking about this for a while, and I’ve looked at them a few times but I just wasn’t sold. Then last year I got pregnant in January, so I had a whole year without a period! When it came back in June, and I went back to using my organic cotton pads, I remembered all the things that I hate about being on my period. They’re hot, I feel wet and sweaty and soggy and gross, and like the most unattractive thing there is – and on top of all of that, I’m constantly stressed about leaks.

So after all of that returning in force in June, I decided to order a pair of Thinx and see how they felt. I couldn’t justify a whole set, before knowing what I think of them, but it was time to do something different.

Well, true to form, Aunt Flo returned at the least opportune time – literally hours before leaving for the weekend to visit my parents in WI. After muttering a few choice words about the timing, I grabbed my trusty Diva Cup (which is going to be a topic for a future post, since it’s become significantly less trusty ever since giving birth. Lol!), and my brand new Thinx!

Y’all, I won’t go into any gnarly details, but my life changed last weekend. I repeatedly forgot that I was on my period! Crazy, right? I found myself rinsing, hand-washing, and then drying my single pair of Thinx every morning before my shower because I couldn’t bear the thought of going back to pads, especially while out of town, visiting family, wrangling a 10mo old, and putting on a party. Worth. It.

So. Here I am, talking about periods and underwear. You need this, your sister needs this…your daughter deserves this option. If these types of products had been available and normal when I was 13 and got my first period, my teenage years would have been so much less stressful! Not to mention tampon alternatives like menstrual cups or discs!

If you’re ready to grab your Thinx and revolutionize your period, use this link for $10 off! When you purchase with that link you’ll get $10 off your first order and I’ll also get a $10 credit towards my next pair!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page