top of page
  • allalittlebroken

DIY Shampoo Hack

I love my Young Living Lavender Mint shampoo, but it never worked well for me at full-strength…I just felt like it wasn’t quite jiving with my hair. So I started talking to a few friends and doing some research on what I could do to help my hair make friends with this natural shampoo.

I started with the Copaiba Vanilla shampoo from YL, and diluted it 50/50. That seemed to work pretty well. Then I found a few hair mask recipes that I drew from and created my own conglomerate mask with coconut oil, apple cider vinegar, and some YL oils. Well, that was incredible, and it made my hair so soft. The only trouble with that plan was that it takes time – time to apply it, at least 20min to let it sit, and then time to shower and wash the mask out – and I found it difficult enough to make the time for that while I was pregnant and my job was literally just taking care of myself…I knew once James was born, there would be no way I would ever get it done.

That’s when I decided to try this.

I pour half of the shampoo into an old bottle, add a splash of ACV, and top it off with hot water. You’ll see that I use a stainless steel straw for mixing, but I also pour the water down the length of the straw – that’s to help keep the shampoo from sudsing up when pouring in the water.


I hope you find this helpful! If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to reach out!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page